April 27-30,


Sophia University

Tokyo, Japan

The 19th

International Cyclodextrin Symposium

Excursion (One Day Tour)

  This tour visits four popular sightseeing spots in Tokyo: Tokyo Tower, Senso-ji Temple in Asakusa, Imperial Palace and Nijubashi Bridge, as well as a Tokyo Bay (or Sumida River) Cruising with Yakatabune, including a Japanese traditional lunch (Tour course may change depending on the number of participants).

  Tokyo Tower: It was built in 1958 having 333 meters high as a communications and observation tower. Under a clear day, you can enjoy the view of Ginza, Tokyo Bay and even Mt. Fuji from the observation deck.

  Yakatabune Cruising: Tokyo Bay (or Sumida River)Cruising with Yakatabune. “Yakatabune” is a kind of privately owned Japanese houseboat. You can enjoy the scenery of big city “Tokyo”, the historical buildings and modern architecture from the boat.

  Lunch: In Yakatabune, you can enjoy a Japanese traditional lunch such as tempura, a Japanese dish of deep-fried fish and vegetable (Menu is tentative).

  Senso-ji Temple in Asakusa: Senso-ji is an ancient Buddhist temple located in Asakusa. In Asakusa you can also enjoy shopping at Nakamise street running from Kaminarimon Gate to the Buddhist Senso-ji Temple lined with around 90 shops.

  Imperial Palace and Nijubashi Bridge: The Imperial Palace is the primary residence of the Emperor of Japan. It is a large park-like area in the Chiyoda ward of Tokyo and contains buildings including the main palace, the private residences of the imperial family, and Nijubashi Bridge.

Imperial Palace

Tokyo Bay

Yakatabune Cruising

Tokyo Tower


Welcome Reception

The 19th ICS welcome reception will be held on Friday, April 27th from 18:00-20:00 at the Active Commons (Cafeteria: B1F Bldg. #9) of Sophia University, located in this map. The welcome reception provides an excellent opportunity to network, meet old friends and colleagues, as well as meet all the researchers.


The 19th ICS banquet will be held on Sunday, April 29th from 18:00-20:30 at "HO"(Banquet Floor) in Hotel New Otani Tokyo, located just across Sophia University, a 5-minute walk from Sophia University. You will need a ticket for the reception, which will be given to you when you check in at the registration desk for the Symposium until Sunday, April 29th.

History of ICS

The first ICS was held in Budapest, Hungary in 1981 organized by Prof. J. Szejtli. The 2nd ICS was held in Tokyo, Japan in 1984. The ICS activities are as follows:

Place Date Chairperson
Budapest, Hungary 1981.9.30-10.2 J. Szejtli
Tokyo, Japan 1984.7.23-7.27 S. Seki
Lancaster, U.K. 1986.7.20-7.25 J. E. D. Davies
Munich, F.R.G. 1988.4.20-4.22 O. Huber
Paris, France 1990.3.28-3.30 D. Duchene
Chicago, U.S.A. 1992.4.21-4.24 J. J. T. Labandeira
Tokyo, Japan 1994.4.25-4.28 T. Nagai
Budapest, Hungary 1996.3.31-4.2 J. Szejtli
Satiago de Compostela, Spain 1998.5.31-6.3 J. J. Torres-Labandeira, J. L. V. Jato
Michigan, U.S.A. 2000.5.21-5.24 G. Schmid
Reykjavik, Iceland 2002.5.5-5.8 T. Loftsson
Montpellier, France 2004.5.16-5.19 D. Duchene, E. Fattal
Torino, Italy 2006.5.14-5.17 F. Trottal
Kyoto, Japan 2008.5.8-5.11 M. Komiyama, K. Kano
Vienna, Austria 2010.5.9-5.12 H. Viernstein, P. Wolschann
Tianjin, China 2012.5.6-5.10 Yu Liu, Qing-Xiang Guo
Saarbrücken, Germany 2014.5.29-5.31 G. Wenz
Gainesville, Florida, U.S.A. 2016.5.18-5.21 J. Tate, R. Strattan

Organizing Committee in Chief

• Keiko Takahashi (Tokyo Polytechnic University)

• Takashi Hayashita (Sophia University)

• Tsukasa Ikeda (Utsunomiya University)

• Kozo Ito (The University of Tokyo)

• Yoshihiro Ishimaru (Saitama University)

• Takeshi Hashimoto (Sophia University)

• Shoji Fujiwara (Meiji Gakuin University)

International Scientific Advisory Board

• Carmen Alvarez Lorenzo (Santiago de Compostella, Spain)

• Helmut Viernstein (University of Vienna, Austria)

• Gerhard Schmid (Wacker Chemie, Germany)

• Francesco Trotta (University of Torino, Italy)

• Thornsteinn Loftsson (University of Iceland, Iceland)

• Gerhard Wenz (Saarland University, Germany)

• Sophie Fourmentin (University of Littoral, France)

• Lajos Szente (CycloLab, Ltd., Hungary)

• Antonino Mazzaglia (CNR-ISMN c/o Univ. Messina, Italy)

• Jeffrey Tate (CTD, Holdings, Inc., USA)

• James D. Pipkin (Ligand Pharmaceuticals, USA)

• Hidetoshi Arima (Kumamoto University, Japan)

• Tsukasa Ikeda (Utsunomiya University, Japan)

• Keiko Takahashi (Tokyo Polytechnic University, Japan)

• Jun Li (National University of Singapore, Singapore)

• Yu Liu (Nankai University, China)

• Chris Easton (Australian National University, Australia)

Organizing Committee

• Keiji Terao (CycloChem Co. Ltd.)

• Hidetoshi Arima (Kumamoto University)

• Koji Hara (Ensuiko Sugar Refining Co. Ltd.)

• Hiroshi Ikeda (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

• Koichi Ogawa (Nihon Shokuhin Kako Co. Ltd.)

• Toshiko Tanimoto (Mukogawa Wemen’s University)

• Tetsuo Kuwabara (Yamanashi University)

• Toshiyuki Kida (Osaka University)

• Yoshinori Takashima (Osaka University)

• Yuya Egawa (Josai University)

• Hiroaki Kitagishi (Doshisha University)

• Kazuaki Kato (The University of Tokyo)

• Keiichi Motoyama (Kumamoto University)

• Kenjirou Higashi (Chiba University)

• Naoko Ikuta (Kobe University)

Japanese Scientific Advisory Board

• Hitoshi Hashimoto

• Tsuneji Nagai

• Haruhisa Ueda

• Kaneto Uekama

• Makoto Komiyama

• Koji Kano

• Keiji Yamamoto

• Akira Harada

• Fumitoshi Hirayama

[Secretariat and Information]

Takeshi Hashimoto

Address: Department of Materials and Life Sciences,

Faculty of Science and Technology, Sophia University,

7-1 Kioi-cho, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 102-8554, Japan

E-mail: [Show Email Form]

Phone: +81-3-3238-3370,   Fax: +81-3-3238-3361